Our Team


Board of Directors

  • Andrew Brown, Conservation Programs Supervisor, East Multnomah Soil & Water Conservation District [Jurisdictional Rep]
  • Marianne Colegrove, Deputy Chief Information Officer, Reed College & Chair, Friends of Tideman Johnson
  • Tim Crawley, Attorney, Preg, O’Donnell & Gilbert [Board Vice Chair]
  • Peregrine Edison-Lahm, Environmental Scientist, self-employed
  • David Gruen, ORI Participant/Contractor for USEPA Region 10
  • Katie Holzer, Watershed Scientist, Department of Environmental Services, City of Gresham  [Jurisdictional Rep]
  • Roy Iwai, Water Resources Specialist, Multnomah County Road Services [Jurisdictional Rep]
  • Melanie Klym, Water Resources Engineer, GeoEngineers [Board Chair]
  • John Nagy, Surface Water Technician, Water Environment Services, Clackamas County [Jurisdictional Rep]
  • Bruce Newton, Former Director, West National Technology Support Center, NRCS (retired) [Board Treasurer]
  • Mary Ann Schmidt, Environmental Educator (retired)
  • Dick Schubert, R&D Manager (retired)
  • Samantha Sharka, Natural Resources Specialist, AKS Engineering and Forestry
  • Sarah Sapienza, Fisheries Biologist, Oregon Dept. of Fish & Wildlife
  • Charlotte Trowbridge, Conservation Education Program Manager, Tualatin Soil & Water Conservation District
  • Marie Walkiewicz, Environmental Program Coordinator, Bureau of Environmental Services, City of Portland  [Jurisdictional Rep, Board Secretary]

Left to Right: Bob Sanders, Marianne Colgrove, Roy Iwai, Mary Ann Schmidt, Melanie Klym, Dick Schubert, John Nagy, Vinh Nguyen, Marie Walkiewicz

Advisory Circle

The Johnson Creek Watershed Council Advisory Circle is a group of regional community leaders with diverse experience, expertise, and affiliations, which they use to advance the Council’s mission, goals, and values.

  • Bill Bakke, President, Native Fish Society
  • Earl Blumenauer, U.S. House of Representatives
  • Diane Boly, Partner, Boly Welch
  • Robert Gootee, President and CEO, MODA Health
  • Mike Houck, Executive Director, Urban Greenspaces Institute
  • Teresa Huntsinger, Engineer, OTAK
  • Steve Johnson, Professor, Portland State University
  • Gary Klein, Wells Fargo (retired)
  • Walt Mintkeski, Environmental and Energy Efficiency Engineer
  • Jonathan Nicholas, Vice President, MODA Health
  • Gary Rydout, Education Consultant
  • John Wrenn, Senior Vice-President, UBS

The Johnson Creek Watershed Council actively works with community groups, local and federal governments, schools, businesses, other nonprofits and various individuals throughout the year who help us serve our mission.

Jurisdictional Partners

What is a jurisdictional partner?

The Johnson Creek Watershed includes parts of two counties (Clackamas and Multnomah) and five cities (Damascus, Gresham, Happy Valley, Milwaukie, and Portland). Jurisdictional representatives are jurisdictional staff members voluntarily assigned by their respective jurisdictions to the JCWC board of directors in an ex-officio (non voting) capacity. The intent of having jurisdictional representatives serve on the JCWC board is to ensure successful communication and close coordination between the Watershed Council and the watershed jurisdictions with whom we work closely and cooperatively. Though non-voting board members, jurisdictional representatives advise and make recommendations to the board.